Fibra Myo Algos. Known to me as The Unbearable Pain of Fibers and Muscles

 

You wake up one day and immediately regret doing so. You don’t know what’s happening, because for some reason you can’t even lift your head up. ‘I don’t remember drinking last night’ – you think – ‘Must have been a hell of a party if I don’t even remember it’. Unfortunately, you only wish it was booze because at least you’d know it will go away by tomorrow. The feeling you just have woken up with might last for few hours or few days and you’ll never know for sure until it’s gone. But be sure – oh, it will be back.

Like I’ve previously mentioned, I’ve been dealing with Fibromyalgia for about 15 years. That is 15 years of feeling like crap. 15 long years of not being able to enjoy and perform every day activities, leisure and pleasure time, not being capable of getting to the bathroom on my own feet. Yes. My husband has carried me to the bathroom on multiple occasions. He helped me take off my clothes, put my bra on, wash my face and even put a moisturizer on it. Before he came into my life, I was alone with this thing, eating me up. Not really being alone – I had friends and family around of course. But no one knew what I was going through and I couldn’t even bare to start explaining what it was. Mostly, cause I didn’t know it myself. And they probably wouldn’t understand, because only recently Fibromyalgia has been finally recognized as a real disease. There’s a lot of stigma around it though, it’s still often considered as an imaginary disorder. You’re tired? – simply sit down and rest. Except it doesn’t work like that and if you’re reading it, you’ve probably experienced that yourself. It’s a pain beyond imagination, so hard to explain it’s hard to compare to anything. But I’ll give it a try: imagine you spend an entire day at the gym. You go home, go to bed. You wake up the next day. And uh-oh! Now try to multiply that pain by 10, let’s say. And now try to imagine you live with that pain every effing single day. As opposed to the gym muscle sore, it won’t go away after 2 days. It will just get less or more intense, depending on the day. Some days you’ll be able to get out of bed and even put your bra on without grunting. Other days, you won’t be even able to lift your arm, not mentioning holding a glass – an empty one. Or hold your baby… I could write a lot about how it feels, what it feels like and all those different levels and types of pain and symptoms you get from having Fibro. But that’s not the point here. Each of us goes through that in their own way, having their own, unique ways of dealing with it.

I remember having flare ups so severe, that I wasn’t even able to speak, I just kept mumbling, tripping over my tongue. And that was one of the scariest things in my life, the fear of losing the ability to speak. Even though it turned out only to be temporary and would always go away as the flare up had subsided. But I was terrified. Trapped in the body that was acting against me. And even worse – my brain giving up at the same time. The freaking brain f(r)og! For that reason I’m really glad college years are far behind me and back then the Fibro wasn’t my every day companion yet. I miss college years for other reasons though – especially the energy and the silhouette, duh! But back to the brain frog – for many years now I’ve been having a tremendously hard time to learn anything new. I can’t focus enough and even when I manage to get the right level of concentration, my brain instead of sponging the knowledge, keeps bouncing it off  like it was a rubber ball. Extremely annoying and frustrating. It feels like your brain is playing tennis with you. The ball, which is the new data you’re trying to acquire, just keeps bouncing back and forth without landing a mark and scoring. So you read, and you read, and you read a ton of things. And at the end the only thing you remember is possibly a title and maaayyybe an author – good luck with that, I struggle almost every time. It’s very similar to all those ADD/ADHD jokes you see all over the Internet, my favorite being: Ask me about my attention deficit disorder. Or pie or my cat. A dog. I have a bike. Do you like TV? I saw a rock. Hi! … I’m not making fun of anyone, because it’s simply how I feel most of the time. Because I get so frustrated by not being able to understand what the hell I’m reading right now, that my mind just drifts away to another dimension, where it’s happier for the time being.

I used to be smarter. I used to read things beyond my comprehension just for shits and giggles, just because I could. My English used to be much better, especially speech wise. My accent was better. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t’ speak with a typical strong Polish accent, but every now and then my mind slips and the words coming out of my mouth sound way off. What’s frustrating is that I know exactly how to pronounce things. I can speak with a British accent if I try. I’m great in singing with British accent, especially the songs originally sang by Brits. But as the years progress, it feels like my brain and my tongue are slowly separating and will soon divorce for good (such a waste, they’ve been quite a couple). And that will be scary, I can’t even imagine what I would sound like then! So to prevent that, I read. And I read. And I read. And I try to learn something new. But we’re back to square one and I wind up not remembering a thing from what I’ve just read.

I’ve only started this blog a little over a week ago and I’m aware I don’t have a big public yet, but if you happen to stop by and read it, please, let me know what you think. If you’re in the same boat, as I am, share your story with me. Do you have any special ways of dealing with the every day struggle? I’m really curious. I don’t personally know anyone with Fibro. Or maybe I do, but they haven’t shared it with me thinking I wouldn’t understand? Not knowing that I suffer just the same?

 

squirrel-304021_1280

4 thoughts on “Fibra Myo Algos. Known to me as The Unbearable Pain of Fibers and Muscles”

    1. Thank you! I know it’s not for everyone, but for me writing about it is a way of letting off the steam. And I can mock this stupid illness any way I want! 🙂

      Like

  1. Glad you are finding a way to deal with this ugly lifestyle we have to put up with. I would write but can’t concentrate long enough. I can tell you that I was diagnosed celiac as well, 4 years ago. I have since over the next few years completely eliminated any and all grains from my diet. Extremely strict. Even corn syrup. I have a lot of my daily pain under control. I have flares. Oh boy do i have flares. Weather changes are a real booger. The brain fog never seems to lift for more than a day or two at a time, then I am so busy trying to keep up that I loose track again quickly. Thank God for my husband who takes care of me when I can’t and enjoys letting me putter in the kitchen creating healthy meals that we both enjoy.
    Before fibro I was in loss prevention and loved my job. Ran the department in a regional store. I loved the adrenaline rush of spotting and catching a shoplifter. I could work a 12 hour day and not blink. High concentration, lots of paperwork, and had to know my store, my staff, movement of stock, and be ready to go to court on any given day to testify. Giving up my job was hard. Really hard, but I was forced to realize one day that with the high amount of adrenaline needed, and the number of criminals that were becoming violent, I was putting my life and others in danger trying to fake my way through the flares.
    Find what makes you feel happy today. Don’t dwell on who you used to be. It will drive you crazy. Find success in something you are doing now. It’s what keep me moving forward.

    Like

    1. Hi Carol, thanks for stopping by! Every time I read other people life stories it makes me cringe that we all go through this suffering without much of an understanding from others. All those invisible illnesses make you think you’re crazy, cause maybe they’re right. If they can’t see that I’m sick, then maybe I really am not? And how many of us had to give up their hopes, their careers, their busy lives due to simply not being capable of continuing to pretend everything is ok. I’m so glad to hear you have a fantastic husband to give you the support you need and together you face the struggles that fibromyalgia and celiac disease bring. Wish you all the best and please, stop by again! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment